AB 1887: New States Added to Prohibited List

Sent to the KFS-Update mailing list on June 26, 2017

California Assembly Bill No. 1887 prohibits the use of state funds for travel to states that have passed a law after June 26, 2015, that (1) authorized discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression; or (2) repealed existing state or local protections against such discrimination.

The list of states where travel restrictions apply was updated on June 23 and now includes: Alabama, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, and Texas. The prohibited list can change, and the most up-to-date list is located on the State Attorney General's website: https://oag.ca.gov/ab1887.

AB 1887 provides a number of exceptions (see the link below for details) and does not affect travel that is paid for or reimbursed using non-state funds. Additionally, Trips booked prior to June 23, 2017, to the four newly added states – Alabama, Kentucky, South Dakota, and Texas – are permissible on state funds. Trips booked after that date must comply with AB 1887 rules.

For more information, see the AB 1887 page on the travel website. If you need further assistance, contact the Travel Accounting team in Accounts Payable at travel-accounting@uci.edu.

Sign Up to Get A&FS News in Your Email

Subscribe to the following mailing lists to keep up to date on the latest UCI financial news.

Follow the links above, type your email address into the first box and click the subscribe button. All the other boxes are optional.